Date posted: 03/05/2023 3 min read

New Zealand Charity Reporting Awards

The 2023 Winners of the New Zealand Charity Reporting Awards

The Awards recognise excellence in charity reporting to help the sector continuously improve the quality of its reporting.

  • CA ANZ’s latest recipients of the Charity Reporting Awards are announced.
  • The Awards recognise charities that have embraced reporting requirements and are innovative in their communications with stakeholders.
  • In recognition of the impact of Covid-19 on charities we introduced the “Pandemic Response Award” as the 2023 discretionary award to acknowledge the phenomenal work done by so many charities to support their communities through the challenges of Covid-19.

This year’s winners and highly commended entries in the New Zealand Charity Reporting Awards have been announced, with a Pandemic Response Award being bestowed for the first and hopefully last time.

The Awards, organised by Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CA ANZ), celebrate best practice among registered charities in adopting reporting standards which provide greater transparency and consistency across the sector.

Peter Vial FCA, New Zealand Country Head at CA ANZ, said he was delighted again this year to see the high calibre of entries for the Awards including some excellent first-time entries.
“It is critical that charities connect with stakeholders and tell their story with passion and clarity, particularly in the current economic climate” said Vial. “Charities make a difference every day across Aotearoa.  Our Reporting Awards are a way of encouraging charities to communicate their difference making effectively.”

First place winners in each of the three reporting categories and the sustainability category received a $1,000 prize. The highly commended in each category and the Pandemic Response Award winner received a $500 prize. The judging panel consisted of 2021 CA ANZ President Nives Botica-Redmayne FCA, Bob King AT (Fellow), Roimata Ah Sam CA and Merchaleen Laaks CA.

The reporting and sustainability categories prizes are sponsored by chartered accounting firms BDO, RSM, Baker Tilly Staples Rodway, William Buck and PKF, and the Pandemic Response Award is sponsored by CA ANZ.

Award recipients

Tier 1 & 2

Winner’s award sponsored by RSM: The Fred Hollows Foundation 

The Fred Hollows Foundation’s strategy to reduce avoidable blindness and vision impairment in the Pacific focuses on the training of local doctors, nurses, and mid-level health personnel to specialise in eye care so that they can go on to provide sustainable eye care services in their own country.

The Fred Hollows Foundation Annual Report 

Highly Commended sponsored by PKF: Karori Sanctuary Trust/Zealandia

Set around a picturesque reservoir, Zealandia is home to some of New Zealand's rarest and most extraordinary wildlife, all thriving in a world-first protected sanctuary. Zealandia has a vision to restore the valley to the way it was before the arrival of humans. With its 8.6km fence keeping out introduced mammalian predators, birds such as the tūī, kākā and kererū, once extremely rare in the region, are all now common sights around central Wellington. Other vulnerable native species such as tīeke, hihi, little spotted kiwi, and tuatara are thriving safely in the sanctuary.

Zealandia Annual Report 

Tier 3

Winner sponsored by Baker Tilly Staples Rodway: Parent Aid North West

Parent Aid North West is a free at-home service to give parents a hand when they have their hands full. The charity works with first time mums while they start breast-feeding, looking after their newborn babies and recovering from childbirth.  It also provides help for parents who have a young, growing family of little ones when life can get extremely busy. They can help if a parent suffers an accident or finds themselves in a situation where they need support, or for parents with twins or triplets (or more) who need many hands from time to time.

Parent Aid North West Annual Report 

Highly Commended sponsored by PKF: Grandparents raising Grandchildren

Grandparents Raising GrandchildrenTM Trust NZ (GRG) is operating throughout New Zealand providing support services to grandparents who are raising their grandchildren on a full-time basis. Their vision is for a community where grandparents raising grandchildren are empowered to provide a safe, secure and nurturing home for their grandchildren.

Grandparents raising Grandchildren Annual Report 

Tier 4

Winner sponsored by William Buck: Empowered Learning Trust

Empowered Learning Trust delivers a specialised screening project in schools to help identify and support young people living with learning, visual and auditory processing difficulties. They work collaboratively with schools and local community groups to ensure the best outcomes for these young people.

Empowered Learning Trust Annual Report 

Highly Commended sponsored by PKF: Sugarfoot Stomp

Sugarfoot Stomp is a club and community resource, used by its members, to facilitate the Black American Cultural Art Form of Swing Dancing that connects and develops the talented Wellington community of dancers and musicians. The aim at Sugarfoot Stomp is to create fun, open and positive spaces for everyone to enjoy.

Sugarfoot Stomp Annual Report 


Winner sponsored by BDO: Sustainable Business Network

Sustainable Business Network is a purpose-driven social enterprise aiming to model re-generative and redistributive behaviours in all they do. It is a network that enables system change in the areas of climate, waste and nature. 

Its role is to transform leading ideas on sustainable business into action in Aotearoa New Zealand.  

Founded in 2002, it is Aotearoa New Zealand's largest, longest-standing sustainable business organisation.

Sustainable Business Network Annual Report 

Highly Commended sponsored by PKF: Sustainable Coastlines

Sustainable Coastlines brings people together to reduce plastic pollution and other litter to protect the moana we all love. It operates nationwide, inspiring change through beach clean-ups, education, and litter data collection. Its goal is to see 60% less litter on the coastlines of Aotearoa by 2030. It intends to achieve its goal by empowering communities to take action for their local beach through coastal clean-up events, educational programmes, public awareness campaigns, and litter data collection.

Sustainable Coastlines Annual Report

Pandemic Response

Winner sponsored by CA ANZ: Good Bitches Baking

Good Bitches Baking is all about spreading a bit of sweetness in the community. The aim is to give a moment of happiness to people going through a tough time by baking them a delicious treat. There are so many people out there having a tough time: families with children in hospital; those using food banks and soup kitchens; residents in hospices and their loved ones; women and children fleeing domestic violence. Good Bitches Baking hopes to give them just a moment of sweetness in their time of crisis.

Good Bitches Baking Annual Report

Thank you to our sponsors for their continued support - helping to shine a bright light to the incredible mahi of New Zealand charities.

Corporate logos 

Related Download

Download the PDF flyer including Terms & Conditions.