Date posted: 19/01/2024 3 min read

2024 New Zealand For Purpose Reporting Awards

Entries are now being invited for the 2024 New Zealand For Purpose Reporting Awards.

Formerly the Charity Reporting Awards, these awards are presented annually by Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CA ANZ) to recognise excellence in reporting and help the for purpose sector continue to improve the quality of its reporting.

Charities have been required to apply the reporting standards issued by the External Reporting Board (XRB) to prepare their financial statements since 2016. These were introduced to provide greater transparency and consistency in reporting in the charities sector.

This year, for the first time, we are inviting incorporated societies (that are not charities) to also enter the awards to recognise the new reporting requirements in the Incorporated Societies Act 2022. Under the new Act, many incorporated societies will have to start using the XRB reporting standards to prepare their financial statements.

2023 NZ Charity Reporting Awards celebration evening

Award evening 2023 pictures

Enter now

Want to enter your charity or incorporated society into the For Purpose Reporting Awards? Submissions are now open and we are accepting entries until Wednesday 28 February 2024. Please complete the following information to be considered:

From there, we will be obtain the charity’s or societies most recent financial statements that have been filed on the public register.

We encourage entities to include full financial statements in their annual report and to file their annual report with the applicable regulator.

Judging criteria

For each reporting category:

  • Compliance with XRB reporting standards – 50%
  • Communication effectiveness – 50%

For the Sustainability Award:

Demonstrating how economic, social and environmental resources are managed to ensure a prosperous future for the entity and its stakeholders.

For the First Time Entry Award:

The same judging criteria will apply as for each reporting category.

Who can enter?

It does not matter the capacity in which you are involved with a charity or incorporated society, whether you are an employee, volunteer, professional advisor, donor or funder, you can put forward an entity that you believe ought to be recognised.


Prizes will be awarded to the winner and highly commended in each of the three reporting categories plus the Sustainability Award. One prize will also be awarded to the overall winner of the First Time Entry Award.

We will notify winners by Friday 10 May 2024.

For more information

Please contact: Maike Scherer

You can sign up to the Charities Services newsletter at or go to the Facebook page for more details about its role in the charities sector.

Thank you to the sponsors of the 2024 New Zealand For Purpose Awards

2024 For Purpose Reporting Awards Sponsor Logos 

Related Download

Download the PDF flyer including Terms & Conditions.


2023 Winners of the New Zealand Charity Reporting Awards

Read more