Tax Committees

Our Tax Teams in Australia and New Zealand work together with members to influence and develop tax law and policy

in brief

  • Our Committees advocate for sound, fair and efficient tax law and policy that seek to assist growth in the economy
  • Meet the members who form our Australian Tax Committee and our New Zealand Tax Advisory Group.


Tax Committee

The Tax Committee works with the Australian Tax Team by providing high level input into identifying and addressing strategic issues concerning the tax profession in Australia. The Committee also assists with consultation activities and preparation of submissions for Government, Treasury, the Australian Taxation Office and other agencies.

Committee members are appointed on the basis of their experience and commitment to improving Australia’s tax system.

Meet the Tax Committee:

Michael Barbour Westpac (Chair)
Mark Bradford Qantas
Lynda Brumm PwC (Deputy Chair)
Alf Capito EY
Rhiain Garrihy Suncorp
Leo Gouzenfiter Pitcher Partners
Brian Lane EY
Alia Lum KPMG
Raffi Tenenbaum William Buck
Robert Ward Goodman Group
Jenny Wong KPMG
David Watkins Deloitte
Andrew White PwC

New Zealand

Tax Advisory Group

The TAG aims to provide sound, fair and efficient tax law and tax administration advice that is in the interest of New Zealanders and New Zealand business.

It advocates for policy and legislative reform that aims to result in growing the New Zealand economy and reducing compliance costs. Our New Zealand Tax Team works with the TAG to:

  • make submissions to government
  • undertake confidential pre-policy statement consultation
  • review and comment on Inland Revenue policy statements, questions and media statements
  • engage with Inland Revenue on operational policies and procedures, and
  • work closely with other key stakeholders in the tax system.

The TAG members are appointed for their work experience at the partner level or equivalent and represent the breadth of the profession – large firms, corporates, small and medium practices, and academia.

Current TAG members:

 Scott Mason FCA (Chair) Otago
 Craig Elliffe FCA (Deputy Chair) Auckland
 Murray Brewer FCA  Auckland 
 Chris Cunniffe FCA Auckland
 Francine Corbett FCA Auckland
 Grant Duncan Auckland
 Paul Dunne FCA Auckland
 Darshana Elwela Auckland
 Sandy Lau Wellington
 Louis McLennan Auckland
 Alex Mitchell Wellington
 Rachel Piper Auckland
 Mike Shaw FCA Wellington
 Michael Turner FCA Otago
 Bruce Wallace FCA Auckland
 Aaron Quintal Auckland
 Mark Lodder Christchurch

Search related topics