Date posted: 24/09/2018

Women of Influence 2018 winners announced

The winners of the Women of Influence 2018 Awards have been announced

In Brief

  • Sarah Lang is the winner of the Chartered Accountants ANZ Diversity Award
  • Jackie Clark has been named the Supreme Winner
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Theresa Gattung

The winners of the Women of Influence 2018 Awards have been announced with Jackie Clark named the Supreme Winner and Sarah Lang the winner of the Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand Diversity award.

The award ceremony was held on the eve of the day marking 125 years since women won the right to vote, Wednesday 18 September at SKYCITY Convention Centre in Auckland.

Sarah Lang
Sarah Lang, Photo by Oliver Li, Stuff

The Diversity Award was presented to Sarah Lang by Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand President Jane Stanton FCA ACCA. Sarah is the Project Director at Infrastructure New Zealand, she is also the founder of the Women's Infrastructure Network in New Zealand. Sarah has led the growth of the network to over 1,000 members, spread over five chapters nationwide.

The purpose of this network is to increase the number of women in leadership roles, grow the visibility of women, and to provide a networking and support group for women in the infrastructure sector.

Full list of category winners:

  • Arts and culture: Miranda Harcourt, performance consultant at Rata Studios
  • Board and management: Dr Farah Palmer, NZ Rugby and SportNZ board member, NZ Maori Rugby Board chair, senior lecturer at Massey University
  • Business enterprise: Angie Judge, chief executive at Dexibit
  • Community and not for profit: Jackie Clark, "aunty in charge" at The Aunties
  • Diversity: Sarah Lang, project director at Infrastructure New Zealand
  • Global: Sarah Vrede, recent director of financial operations and head of New Zealand Debt Management Office, The Treasury
  • Innovation and science: Professor Wendy Larner, provost at Victoria University of Wellington
  • Public policy: Charlotte Korte, co-leader of Mesh Down Under
  • Rural: Rebecca Keoghan, general manager/director Westland Milk Products and Pamu Academy
  • Young leader: Maddison McQueen-Davies, founder and facilitator of Share a Pair
  • Supreme winner: Jackie Clark
  • Lifetime achievement: Theresa Gattung