Date posted: 17/03/2023

Tasmanian Member Celebration Dinners

Congratulations to new members and award recipients

In brief

  • Dinner and presentation ceremony recognised special achievements by Tasmanian members
  • CA ANZ CEO, Ainslie van Onselen, joined the celebrations in both cities
  • Tasmania Council Chair, Bo Xu CA, and CA ANZ Councillor, Naomi Walsh FCA, presented certificates

The Tasmanian Member Celebration Dinners held on the 15th and 16th of March in Hobart and Launceston, respectively, were a resounding success as we celebrated the achievements of our esteemed members and award recipients.  

It was wonderful to recognise some very special achievements by Tasmanian Members of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CA ANZ), including: 

  • New CA ANZ members and CA Program candidates achieving a pass with Merit 
  • New Certificate of Public Practice holders 
  • Members achieving membership milestones of 25, 40 and 50 years 
  • Young Tasmanian CA 2022: David Kewley CA 
  • Tasmanian members advanced to CA ANZ Fellowship: Cherie Atchison FCA, Gareth Atkins FCA and Adrian Bott FCA; and 
  • CA ANZ Meritorious Service Award recipient: Danny McCarthy FCA 

Congratulations to all our new members and award recipients!  

CA ANZ Chief Executive Officer, Ainslie van Onselen, graced both events and provided a CEO Address and update, expressing her admiration for the incredible business confidence exhibited in Tasmania, which is well above average in wage growth. She attributed this success to our members, who are the engine room of this growth, setting Chartered Accountants apart as Difference Makers. 

Ainslie went on to explain how CA ANZ is focused on tackling the most significant challenges facing our profession and the various initiatives we have implemented to support our members in achieving greatness. 

Ainslie van Onselen CA ANZ CEO

CA ANZ Chief Executive Officer, Ainslie van Onselen, speaking at the celebration ceremony

The ceremonies, held at the Collins Room in RACV Hobart Hotel and Kings Wharf Lounge West at Peppers Silo Launceston, respectively, were opened by Tasmania Council Chair, Bo Xu CA. 

NSW Celebration

Tasmania Council Chair, Bo Xu CA, conducting the presentation ceremony

In Hobart, Bo was joined by Tasmanian Council Vice Chair, David Kewley CA, fellow Council members Cherie Atchison FCA, Hayden Moore CA, Natalie Svetlova CA and Stuart Edwards CA. Past CA ANZ Councillor, Danny McCarthy FCA and Past CA ANZ Board Member, Mike Blake FCA as well as previous Tasmania Council Chairs John Woods FCA, Lyn Cox FCA, Shaun Sargent FCA, Rod Whitehead FCA and Brett Spinks FCA graced the ceremony along with CA ANZ Regional Manager for Tasmania and Victoria, Andrew Quinlan FCA. 

In Hobart, 20 new members were welcomed into the family of Difference Makers at CA ANZ. Other notable achievements were also celebrated, including new Certificate of Public Practice (CPP) holders, CA Program merit recipients, and membership milestone achievers. Additionally, the new Fellow, Cherie Atchison FCA, Meritorious Service Award winner, Danny McCarthy FCA, and Young CA of the Year, David Kewley CA, were recognized. 

Tasmanian Member Celebration Dinners

Tasmania Council Chair, Bo Xu CA presenting the Meritorious Service Award to Danny McCarthy FCA

Similarly, the presentation ceremony and dinner in Launceston were conducted with the utmost finesse, as Tasmania Council Chair, Bo Xu CA, acknowledged the exceptional achievements of the recipients and highlighted the vital role played by Chartered Accountants. Certificates were presented by CA ANZ Councillor, Naomi Walsh FCA.  

Tasmanian Member Celebration Dinners

CA ANZ Councillor, Naomi Walsh FCA delivering the Message of Congratulations to members

Tasmanian Council Vice Chair, David Kewley CA, council member, Phil Futon FCA, previous President of ICAA, Robert Atkinson FCA, previous Tasmanian Council Chairs Rob Woolley FCA, Bob Ruddick FCA, Ben Coull FCA and Lyndal Kimpton FCA, and CA ANZ Regional Manager for Tasmania and Victoria, Andrew Quinlan FCA, graced the occasion in Launceston. 

The ceremony in Launceston also saw six new members joining the family of Difference Makers at CA ANZ, along with other notable achievements like membership milestone achievers, new fellows, and the Young CA of the Year, David Kewley CA. 

Tasmanian Member Celebration Dinners 
David Kewley CA, speaking after accepting the award for Young Tasmanian CA

We extend our heartfelt thanks to all our members and guests who attended and made this an unforgettable evening, and we look forward to celebrating our next cohort of certificate recipients in 2024! 

In the meanwhile, we look forward to meeting you at other upcoming events such as the Tax, Super and Financial Services roadshow in Hobart on 24 May and in Launceston on 25 May. Find out more about the events and how to register.

Search related topics