Date posted: 11/12/2018 2 min read

Entries now open for 2019 NZ Charity Reporting Awards

The Charity Reporting Awards acknowledge best practice in financial reporting.

In brief

  • Entries for the New Zealand Charity Reporting Awards are now open. They close on Wednesday 20 February 2019
  • The awards recognise charities that have embraced best-practice reporting and have innovated in the way they communicate their performance to stakeholders
  • Entering the awards is easy and rewarding

Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CA ANZ) is proud to announce the 2019 New Zealand Charity Reporting Awards to recognise outstanding transparency and accountability in financial reporting by registered charities.

The 2018 awards attracted a wide range of entries which were described as impressive in their quality and depth.

"We'd love to attract the same calibre of entries for the 2019 awards," said Peter Vial, Group Executive, Advocacy and Professional Standing for New Zealand and the Pacific."

"In 2016 new reporting standards were introduced to provide greater transparency and consistency in reporting within the charities sector.

"Getting it right gives charities the opportunity to tell their story to potential funders, volunteers and the broader community."
Peter Vial - Group Executive, Advocacy and Professional Standing for New Zealand and the Pacific

The new charity regulations represented a significant shift in reporting standards for many organisations in the not-for-profit sector.

Four years ago, the majority of New Zealand's more than 27,000 charities did not need to comply with any accounting standards.

But the legislative changes, introduced in 2013 and mandatory from April 1 2015, mean all charities now have to follow specified accounting standards. A four-tier structure, reflected in the awards, means smaller charities have less onerous requirements than larger ones.

"It was a steep learning curve for many organisations, particularly smaller ones," said Vial. "But last year's awards showed charities were getting to grips with what's required and seizing the opportunity to open new and better lines of communication with stakeholders."

Entries are judged on the effectiveness of their communication, their innovation, compliance with standards and overall presentation. They are open to 'charitable entities' as described in the Charities Act.

The winner in each tier of the awards will receive $1,000, while those highly commended will receive $500.

Entering the awards is easy. Simply send through your Financial Statements (if you are in Tier 1 or 2 charity) or your Performance report (if you are in Tier 3 or 4).

How to enter the Charity Reporting Awards

So you think you have the best charity report? Enter the Awards to get your hard work recognised. All you need to do is send us your Financial Statements (if you are in Tier 1 or 2) or your Performance Report (if you are in Tier 3 or 4). Prizes of $1,000 will be awarded to the winner in each of the four tiers of reporting. It really is that easy.

For details on how to enter and full terms and conditions please download the promotional flyer.

Download flyer

Click Here

Search related topics