Date posted: 25/11/2016 3 min read

Leaders recognised for leadership and excellence in public service

The 2016 Leadership in Government Awards in Canberra recognised the excellence and leadership in the Australian public sector

The Chartered Accountants ANZ Annual Leadership in Government Awards recognises excellence in the public sector.  

Susan Pascoe AM, Commissioner of the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission was awarded the prestigious Outstanding Contribution to Public Administration Award which recognises exceptional leaders in the Australian Public Service. The prize includes $20,000 for leadership development and growth.

Charlie Shandil from the Department of Immigration and Border Protection and Kristine Tay from the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade were both awarded Graduate of the Year. The award recognises graduates who have excelled and made a visible difference in their field and for their ability to inspire others. Winner receives a trophy and a $10,000 sabbatical to invest in leadership development.

Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand Head of Members Simon Grant congratulated the winners and thanked them for their service and contribution to the nation: “This year’s Leadership in Government Awards recognises leaders that are building a sustainable and prosperous future, tonight we awarded Graduate of the Year and a leader for Outstanding Contribution. We did this because we recognise that leadership doesn’t necessarily have to come from leadership positions,"

“The winners proved to the judges that they have vision, integrity and personal drive to use their values and role to make their nation a leading nation."
Simon Grant, Head of Members, CA ANZ

Former UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan delivered the keynote address from Geneva. He urged modern leadership to have courage and that nations needed to work together more than ever before. ;

The event was concluded with a Q&A panel with Emma Alberici and distinguished guests exploring issues around the UN Sustainability Development Goals. The panel included Dr José Ramos-Horta, Kirk Pengilly and Professor Barbara Norman.

Get in touch

Contact our Media Team

Search related topics